Vancouverite

It is now almost 3 weeks since I had made yet another bold move in my adult life. I had finally decided to fulfill my long standing plan of moving West. I say bold because all of my Canadian life before 3 weeks ago had been lived in Toronto. All I know of Canada I learned there. And though I have grown accustomed, nay, grown affiliation, nay, grown genuine affection towards it, I still deemed that it was time for me to leave it, said to be the biggest and most progressive city in all of Canada and 4th most liveable city in the world. My heart broke a bit upon making the tough decision. It will forever be home to me.

I see myself however wanting to try to do more things. And though Toronto had never stopped giving me the chance to see more, do more, and be more, I also felt it was finally time to seek out adventure yet again… elsewhere. Perhaps, like Manila once before, Toronto will have to wait with bated breath on what will become of me after leaving its comfortable confines. I know Toronto only wishes me well like Manila once did.

And thus, I am now in the process of making Vancouver my home. And though it has only been a few days since I have arrived it was not very difficult to learn why this city has been deemed a dream city to live in for them adventurous bunch like popular travel bloggers Nomadic Matt and Nomadic Pinoy. Aside from being the 3rd most liveable city in the world, this place certainly screams adventure. The mountains never disappear from the horizon, the beaches are at anyone’s beck and call despite it being cosmopolitan in every sense of the word. I have already climbed my first Canadian mountain on my first week here and have already checked-out the beaches at Stanley Park. I can’t wait until I get a chance to try to do more things like climb up Grouse Mountain and Whistler, and try surfing at Tofino.

Leave a Reply

